Go Back   Practical Fishkeeping Forum » NEW FISHKEEPERS » New fishkeepers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th May 2012, 20:52   #1
natty89
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
natty89 is a voice in the crowd
Default a daft question to most but i dont want to blow my house up!

Hi. This is all new to me and I need some advice. Today I bought my daughter her first fish tank. Its is only a Aquatown My First Aquarium tank but she is only two. However when reading the instructions for the pump it says to fully cover the pump and it says to place on the bottom of the tank ensuring the power cord loops below the electrical outlet to form a drip loop. This is confusing me as electrics and water in my experience do not mix.

Sorry if this seems a dumb question just want to make sure my daughter is safe and enjoys her new fish
natty89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:01   #2
tpot
 
tpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,607
tpot has proved to be helpful.
Default

Hello and welcome to the forum.
No question is daft, we`d rather you ask than electrocute yourself or your daughter.
The pump provided for the tank will most likely be what is known as an internal pump, ie it sits inside the tank and has to be under the surface of the water to work properly. What the instructions are trying to tell you is that the electrical cable that goes from the pump to the plug socket needs to hang below the plug socket so that if any water or condensation that drips down the cable does not run straight into the plug but drips off the U shape that is made when the cable loops back up to the socket.
I hope that makes sense and puts your mind at ease.
tpot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:04   #3
tpot
 
tpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,607
tpot has proved to be helpful.
Default

As you are just setting up the tank, I am guessing you haven`t got any live stock yet - well I`m hoping you haven`t!
Before you do anything have a read of this - if you haven`t already.
http://forum.practicalfishkeeping.co...ad.php?t=82687
tpot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:06   #4
matsp
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North of Cambridge, England
Posts: 13,834
matsp is very dependable.matsp is very dependable.
Default

The most likely scenario for (more than the odd drop) is if you use a hose to fill up the tank, and the water overflows the tank - then the water may wall follow the wire from the tank to the socket if you have the socket at the lowest point. Water don't run "up" wires, so if the lowest point isn't at the socket, you are fine.

I've never seen condensation run down the wire, but I guess there is a small possibility.

--
Mats
__________________
My Android App to find Catfish species on Planet Catfish:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.aquaticrepublic.quickfind
matsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:15   #5
natty89
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
natty89 is a voice in the crowd
Post

no there is no fish in the tank yet. I'm waiting the recommended 3 days until the tank is ready. Can the pump go on the bottom of the tank then? Like it says? it says that the pump should be placed on a smooth horizontal surface on the floor. I tried attaching a pic of the pump but I can't but it is a JEBO Q11Q if that makes any sense x
natty89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:22   #6
matsp
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North of Cambridge, England
Posts: 13,834
matsp is very dependable.matsp is very dependable.
Default

What is the name of the manufacturer of the tank?

--
Mats
__________________
My Android App to find Catfish species on Planet Catfish:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.aquaticrepublic.quickfind
matsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:25   #7
matsp
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North of Cambridge, England
Posts: 13,834
matsp is very dependable.matsp is very dependable.
Default

What is the name of the manufacturer of the tank?

--
Mats
__________________
My Android App to find Catfish species on Planet Catfish:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.aquaticrepublic.quickfind
matsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:27   #8
daz4321
 
daz4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,574
daz4321 is very obliging
Default

3 days is wrong please read about cycling your tank for the health of your fish
daz4321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:31   #9
natty89
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
natty89 is a voice in the crowd
Post

It just says Aquatown My First Aquarium x
natty89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 21:38   #10
broadbean
 
broadbean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 203
broadbean is a voice in the crowd
Default

Please don't get fed up with our advice, but I'd also like to stress that you need to read up on fishless cycling and "waiting 3 days" is a piece of absolutely useless information.
broadbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Jump to another section


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:50.